Fashion muse : Solange Knowles

 

 “My mom in the 70s and 80s! She was a bad b*tch. Sex and the City totally jacked her steez on the camels. I have a pic of her on a camel ride in Egypt in the 80s serving the hell out of that desert! Also, Diana Ross, The Fela Kuti Queens, Björk, 70s-era Chaka Khan, Chloë Sevigny, 90s Erykah Badu.” –  Solange about her fashion heroes during her bossip interview

I might as well start this blog off by my first inspiration for this blog. Last night – I don’t even remember how – I stumbled upon the music video for Losing You. So 2013, right? Well not exactly. It reminded me of how I consider this video to be the best video of all time [OK MAYBE I’M EXAGGERATING A LITTLE].  The reason I love this video so much is because of Solange and her impeccable sense of style. Not only is it impeccable, it is also a middle finger raised to the stuck-up, follow-the-trend, unoriginal outfits we see way too much of out there. What I love as well, and what I think is so representative of her, is her bold mix of colors and prints. Because of her (and also a little because of my moroccan origins) I say colors are the new black.

– س

2 thoughts on “Fashion muse : Solange Knowles

Leave a comment